RSS Feed

Unfriendly

I love you, I said.
And it blew your mind.
You took the words, gingerly
from my lips.
And held them at arms length,
As if they might evolve into
Some alien mutation.

How could I say such a thing?
What could it mean?
This is not the done thing!
Love is not uttered aloud!
The others looked at me askance.
Their reaction so much more acid than yours.
And yet yours was the one that burned.

It was no trick.
No glib comment lightly flung.
No admission of sin.
I simply said I love you.

About Dabblewords

Reluctant writer, word dabbler...tea maker, coffee drinker, rum imbiber, chocolate eater.

One response »

  1. Reblogged this on jackcollier7 and commented:
    This is pretty cool.

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

